Sophie’s Vegan Crab Cakes

I am always on the lookout for new vegan products to try, and these days there are so many things to choose from.  I was at the store and came across Sophie’s Vegan Crab Cakes and while vegan seafood is always “ify” for me, this particular product intriged me.

Sophie’s crab cakes are soy free, gluten free, and of course meat/seafood free. 100% veggie based with the main ingredient being konjac powder and pea protein. Konjac is grown in India, China, Japan and Korea for its large starchy corms, used to create a flour and jelly of the same name.

It comes with 4 large “crab” cakes in a package that you can either bake or pan fry. I pan fried my “crab” cakes and served with a side of wild rice and peas. I made two dipping sauces, a creamy lemon and dill dip and a spicy berry sauce. The “crab” cakes were great! The texture was good and  it had that slight hint of the ocean in its taste. I will definatly use these again, they would make a great sandwich!

You can find this product at various health food stores, wholefoods, and online shops!

One thought on “Sophie’s Vegan Crab Cakes

Leave a Reply

